Never Be Rude To An Arab

I just remembered an old Monty Python tune, which quite ingeniously (and rather rudely) highlights the dangers of intolerance, satire, and/or offensiveness. It goes like this:

Never be rude to an Arab,
An Israeli, or Saudi, or Jew,
Never be rude to an Irishman,
No matter what you do.
Never poke fun at a Nigger,
A Spik, or a Wop, or a Kraut,
And never put down…
(explosion!)

Not much has changed, really.

Monty Python of course also produced the infamous film, Life of Brian, which in 1979 caused quite an outcry, and still does in many cases. The movie is basically a parody of the Gospel, but includes clever pokings at many segments of society. For years, it was banned in several countries, deemed blasphemous.

Judge me all you like, but I love this film. It may be blasphemous in certain parts, yes, but its lighthearted take on things does actually make you think. As all good comedy should. I respect that others may not like to watch it, but I think that as a Christian seeing comedians’ portrayals of you gives valuable insights into common misconceptions and oddities. And also, it’s really funny🙂

4 responses to “Never Be Rude To An Arab

  1. Am I allowed to say that I liked The Life of Brian?

    [explosion]

  2. I used to think it was blasphemous. Then I actually watched it, and I realised that it wasn’t even about Jesus. It was about Brian. So what’s the big deal?

    And yup, it’s great!

  3. I don’t think your in any danger of being judged. It has always been fashionable to mock Christ; he takes it so well.

  4. Pingback: Apologies Abound « Kenneth Birch

Leave a Reply

