Proselytizing?

Last week I went to a Christian meeting in a fairly new-started church, having really no idea to expect. As far I could gather, they are young(ish) and Congregationalist, with a not-too-subtle charismatic edge. Aside from the fact that the meeting was way too long (3h), two somewhat contradictory experiences and feelings stand out.

The one was near the end, when the worship went into ‘charis-mode’. Probably fairly moderate actually, but when people fall over and start to babble loudly, I instantly distance myself. When people fall over, you ask if they’re ok, and fetch them a glass of water🙂 But no, these outbursts are actively encouraged. Sorry, guys, I just can’t take It seriously.

The other, very pleasant experience was bumping into someone I knew from elsewhere and had no idea was a Christian. Witnessing her praise the Lord Jesus as her Savior made me happy, because I know now that she is saved by His grace. The more, the merrier.

But the contradiction has been nagging me ever since. I’m happy about my acquaintance having found Jesus, but also a little disappointed that she found Him in a place with certain teachings that I cannot subscribe to.

Should this worry me? Should it even concern me? I don’t think there’s any one church or denomination that has the whole truth. So can judging the teachings of others be anything but hypocritical? I don’t have the answer for this.

One response to “Proselytizing?

  1. I know what you mean. I have many friends and family who are very devout, loving Christians, but not SDAs.

    I would love for them to begin to worship on Sabbath, but at least they ARE worshipping.

    The way I figure it, if they’re sincere, they’ll study their Bibles and at the appropriate time the Lord will reveal his Truth to them.

    For those who live in the same area as I do, perhaps even through Bible studies with me. Not that I’ve had the courage to offer yet. But a girl can dream. =)

    Nimitz’ Lady–>

Leave a Reply

