In Memoriam

Five years ago, the world was changed forever. Yet today is not a day for political discussions. September 11 is a day for remembering those who were lost and praying for those who are still living.

I can probably not say anything about the event that has not already been said. But I can remember my own experience of it.

I was on the bus, on my way home from the Uni in the early afternoon, when my brother called my cell phone to tell me what had happened. As soon as I got home, I turned on CNN and saw the second tower collapse. When my roommate at the time came in, she saw me in front of the TV and asked what I was watching that made me so upset. There was nothing much to say, except let her watch and slowly try to grasp what had happened. The next day, life went on as usual, but in a very subdued way. My lecturer acknowledged that most of us probably hadn’t prepared for class but sat in front of the TV instead. But he carried on, and so did life. The day became history.

September 11 is this generation’s JFK assassination or Pearl Harbor. I’m sure many people will forever remember that day, and where they were when they heard the news. Where were you? I’d like to hear your story.

Author: Kenneth Mollerup Birch

Living north of Copenhagen, Denmark. MA in Information Science. Interests include communication, internet, sociology, language, politics, religion, theology, travel, music, and food.

1 thought on “In Memoriam”

  1. I was at home and I was about 10 years old. I was seeing the news when suddenly they have transmitted on TV the 2nd plane crash live. I only remember my screams calling my mother, saying: “the tower, the tower!” I got really nervous and cried a lot and nowadays I still do. This was a day that surely people are going to remember until the rest of their lives. The past 11 September 2001 leaves on me all the anger and unhappiness you can imagine; and it is surely going to keep recorded in my mind as a terrorist macabre act.

Leave a Reply

