Prayer Works

For any non-religious readers, this will probably sound like superstition. I’m writing this with a renewed confidence that God answers prayer. I cannot prove it, but that’s the whole point of having faith. It is hard even to describe what His answer entails. In this case, it’s all in my head – there has been a change in my thoughts which I can only ascribe to God’s intervention. 

The interesting thing is that it is because of others’ prayers, not mine. I can relate to a passage in Cardinal Newman’s poem “The Dream of Gerontius”, where the main character is dying, and implores his friends: “So pray for me, my friends, who have not strength to pray.” A thrilling part in the musical setting of Edward Elgar.

There is beauty in the truth of this option. Intercessory prayer – praying on behalf of others – is just as powerful as personal prayer. I know that friends and family are praying for me. And I know that it makes a difference. So from the bottom of my heart: thank you.

One response to “Prayer Works

  1. Hello my name is Fabien i live in Paris France, where i moved from West Palm Beach, i would like to request prayer for some people who are suffering and ned salvation,
    my neighbours are a young couple, and i hear them fighting a lot, screaming to each other until 2 in the morning, they would need prayer to get along and not get divorced, and get saved. My brother quit drugs and alchool 2 months ago, he used tu use marijuana and beer from the time he woke up, and the Lord has delivered him, he would need prayer to quit also the tobacco, and remain clean from drugs and alchool, and for salvation too. My father in florida drinks and smokes, he does that he says because my bro and me are not independant, we would need prayer so that we could get our own money. They also need salvation, Pamela an SDA widow needs money since her husband died, Mariette a Haitian SDA sister needs to be well spiritually since she got baptised, she works on SABATH sometimes, and to have some friends in florida, Kirk who is manic-depresive SDA too needs to be well mentally and spiritually, and to all my cousins and friends here to be saved too, thank you, may the Lord bless you too,
    Fabien

Leave a Reply

