Highlights of 2006

Sydney New Year's Fireworks 2007

Last New Year’s positive reminiscing proved a good exercise, so I thought I’d make it a tradition and look back at the good parts of the year. I could probably think of many things that would make 2006 seem sub-par, but focusing on the positive does actually yield a substantial output.

As for New Year’s resolutions, I usually don’t really do that. But if I should name a goal for 2007, it would be learning to trust God more. The necessity of this has been my most important lesson of 2006, and I long to live more and more according to His will.

Travel-wise, 2006 was a year of doubles. Twice in Norway, twice in London, twice in Riga (Latvia being this year’s new country), and twice in Australia. The only thing remaining single was… well, me😉

In stead of the list, I could opt for compressing it into just one point, and at least one of my readers will know what I’m talking about. But this is not the time or place. So, voilá – the highlights of 2006 (in alphabetical order):

  • Attending guest lectures by Philip Jenkins and Brian McLaren
  • Australian Open – witnessing Venus Williams lose in the first round @ the Vodafone Arena
  • Getting to know I, J, K, and probably others that I’ve forgotten
  • Graduating as BA
  • Hanging out in Berkshire
  • Mathilde & Thomas’ wedding
  • Monty Python’s Spamalot @ Palace Theatre, London
  • Mum and Dad in Europe on furlough
  • Prosess, Norway
  • Socceroos making it to the 1/4-finals
  • Studies – yes, going back to school has actually been fun🙂
  • Summer – one of the hottest in Denmark in years
  • Sydney New Year’s fireworks 2007
  • TED Camporee in Denmark – great to be part of such a professional team
  • X-Change in Riga
  • Århus Café Church – still going strong

Once again, a big thanks to all who were a part – big or small – of my life this year. Happy New Year!

2 responses to “Highlights of 2006

  1. Pingback: Highlights of 2007 « Kenneth Birch

  2. Pingback: Highlights of 2008 « Kenneth Birch

Leave a Reply

