Good Riddance

My old buildingI moved recently, and although my new flat is a little bit smaller than my old, I have been very happy with my decision. For several reasons: It’s cheaper. It’s a nicer neighbourhood (previously I lived next to Gellerup one of the few real ghettos in Denmark). It’s walking distance to several friends, to church, to the uni.

Add to that another reason: Apparently my old building is now in such a bad shape that they’re considering tearing it down. When it was built in the 60’s they used salt in the concrete, which is now tarred with rust. Experts assure us there’s no danger it will fall by itself, but fixing it would cost almost as much as razing it and building a new one.

I have many good memories from that place, but all things must come to an end. Time to look forward, not back.

Author: Kenneth Mollerup Birch

Living north of Copenhagen, Denmark. MA in Information Science. Interests include communication, internet, sociology, language, politics, religion, theology, travel, music, and food.

Leave a Reply

