Mountain Dew

Mountain DewI have waited for this for many years. Had almost given up hope, thinking it was never going to happen. And now, all of a sudden, it’s here. Coming all the way from the mountains of America to the flat plains of Denmark. Crystal clear, reminiscent of home, of happiness from an earlier life, lighting up my life in new ways.

The news is that finally, the soft drink Mountain Dew is available for purchase in Denmark, until now at every 7-Eleven. I got one today to go with my Whopper, and enjoyed both on the train to Hedensted (of all places), while listening to The Star-Spangled Banner on my iPod. Tacky, I know, but hey, you have to cherish the moment.

This is in every way a good development.

Author: Kenneth Mollerup Birch

Living north of Copenhagen, Denmark. MA in Information Science. Interests include communication, internet, sociology, language, politics, religion, theology, travel, music, and food.

6 thoughts on “Mountain Dew”

  1. “reminiscent of home, of happiness from an earlier life, lighting up my life in new ways.”

    Hey, I felt the exact same thing this week on the train to Hedensted completing Monkey Island and moving on to the sequel…

    🙂

  2. Listning to the Star-Spangled Banner is purhaps overdoing it, but I kow exactly you mean by “reminiscent of home, of happiness from an earlier life”. For me it ‘Root Beer’ and ‘Cool Aid’ that brings tears to my eyes.

  3. As a dane in Britain, I can have no problem understanding your feeling for “Mountain Drew”. At the moment I often import things like remolade, tyrkisk peber and ga-jol. All this i enjoy doing myself but then on the other hand I see strawberry that taste of nothing in Tesco last week as well as all kinds of water in different bottles from all over the world. What a waste of fuel! and what a hypocrite I am.

  4. I hadn’t really thought of the fuel issue, Michael. I do believe Mountain Dew is actually bottled in Denmark, but you are right that many things are shipped very long distances.

    But more or less, shipping is a fact of life, and a thing that definitely fuels the global economy, making companies competitive in more than just their home markets. And since by far the largest container shipping company in the world is Danish, it also fuels the Danish economy immensely. (Thank you for the Opera House, Mr. Møller.)

Leave a Reply

