How Much to Share?

Life can be tough. And it would be immensely harder if we had to live it out completely on our own. That’s what a friend is for to be a comfort, a shelter, a confidant to the misery of a wary heart. I count myself fortunate to have several close friends with which I can share my feelings, and I have never seen my trust abused. And vice-versa; I am honoured when a friend chooses to share with me deep, serious, life-altering questions and worries.

But sometimes I ask myself: Have I said too much? (I know others ask the same question.) Are some things better left unsaid or at least shared with just one friend instead of a handful or two? Openness is good, but is there a limit to how much of you it is advisable to share with others?

Some people dislike blogging for some of the same reasons that it is an unnecessary disclosure of your personal life. And in my opinion, some blogs definitely do go too far. I try not to and will for the same reason give no examples of the above. (The exception on this blog is of course my poetry but these are art, and should not be seen as analogous to my actual feelings at any time.)

One response to “How Much to Share?

  1. @those people:
    Blogging doesn’t have to be sharing diary-stuff. (e.g. I make contests from time to time on my blog. I also know a blog that only quotes the Bible. That’s not saying too much. But no, I don’t think there is a definable limit to how much is advisable to share.)

Leave a Reply

