Don’t Look Back

One of the queerer Bible stories is that of the destruction of Sodom and flight of Lot and his family. They were told to leave behind that city of evil and venture forth in faith. Only, Lot’s wife lingered back – the text reads: “But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt.” (Genesis 19:26) This text is often used in sermon-making for convincing people to move forward, trusting God. As such, it was influential in my decision to be baptised almost 10 years ago. It’s still a good point: don’t look back.

I will not look back on the things I now leave behind, questioning whether my old life was better. I will cherish the memories, sure, but not linger with pointless nostalgia. I will think fondly of my time in Aarhus (not in the least comparable to Sodom), the people I have met here, the many many good experiences, and the church I have helped build during my 9 years in Denmark’s 2nd largest city. But I will look forward, not back.

I will look forward to leaving my home country, travelling to Sydney in the middle of May. I will look forward to calling Australia home for at least the remainder of 2008. I will look forward to meeting old and new friends in Sydney and elsewhere, introducing them to Katrine, experiencing everyday life down under, and to living with my parents again for the first time since 1997. I will look forward to eventually living in Copenhagen when we return to Denmark sometime in 2009. I will look forward to not knowing exactly what the future brings but hoping for grand experiences and new challenges in the months and years to come.

One response to “Don’t Look Back

  1. Marit Petersen

    Guess who is very much looking forward to you coming to stay for such a long time in Sydney!

    Mum

Leave a Reply

