Highlights of 2010

Winter 10-27Happy New Year! Once again, it is time for reminiscing. And writing this from the warmth of a splendid family holiday in my childhood home of Michigan, it’s hard not to be content.

Once again, it has been a year of traveling, although not quite as much as the previous two years. But two visits to my parents’ new (and old) home in Berrien Springs should be mentioned, as well as two very agreeable weeks in the south of France this summer with Katrine’s parents. New countries of 2010: Slovenia and Croatia.

France 54

Music has once again been a major endeavor, mainly in concert with Camerata. Highlights here include Bach’s Mass in B minor, winning the Nordklang competition in Aarhus, and singing the Messiah at Holmens Kirke once again (thrice, actually).

Birthday 10-05My 30th birthday was a wonderful event, and I was fortunate to have many friends and family to celebrate with me. Coincidentally, my grandma turned 90 a few weeks later, and the brief trip to Norway on that occasion was also a good experience.

More than ever before, 2010 has been a year of running. Beginning in March, I managed to build a condition that I’ve never had before (and lose around 10 kg along the way). The final tally stands at 648.8 km (403 miles), with an average speed of 10.5 km/h.

So, has it been a good year? Not necessarily, and in some ways it might even count as an annus horribilis. My prediction one year ago was that 2010 would bring “no relocations … good experiences, meaningful relations, and a sense of making a difference to other people.” Good experiences, yes. But also, this year I lost my job, and we were forced to move … again. We’re happy living in Birkerød, and I don’t miss that particular job. But when it comes to making a difference to other people, it’s a tougher call. While I mostly find meaningful ways to spend my time, I still seem to be stuck in the limbo of unemployment. More than anything else, I hope this will change in 2011.

I will not repeat last year’s hubris of listing specific hopes for the new year. But to end on a high note, I will wish all my readers a good and joyful 2011, with whatever that entails.

Author: Kenneth Mollerup Birch

Living north of Copenhagen, Denmark. MA in Information Science. Interests include communication, internet, sociology, language, politics, religion, theology, travel, music, and food.

One thought on “Highlights of 2010”

Leave a Reply

