Farewell to Maersk

Today is my last day working for Maersk Line. Four and a half years is a long time, and my longest employment to date.

It has been a fantastic journey, and I have come to cherish the unique world of shipping and the history and values of this company, one of Denmark’s oldest, largest, and most prestigious. The famous Maersk Mc-Kinney Moller was still around when I started, and I got to see him a few times before he passed away, 99 years old, during my first year with the company.

Triple-E 07

I count myself fortunate for having come this far, for the people who have had faith in me and for the many experiences and wonderful people I’ve come to know across the world. Symptomatic to modern-day work I’ve had 5 different managers and 7 different seats. More interestingly, I’ve made 7 overseas trips, with probably the most memorable being attending the naming ceremony of the world’s largest ship in Korea.

I look forward to my new role and challenges as Senior Communication Consultant in Novo Nordisk, but of course I will remember fondly the many good experiences and people in the world of Maersk.

Author: Kenneth Mollerup Birch

Living north of Copenhagen, Denmark. MA in Information Science. Interests include communication, internet, sociology, language, politics, religion, theology, travel, music, and food.

One thought on “Farewell to Maersk”

Leave a Reply

